Thursday, February 16, 2012

Te Tiriti O Waitangi (Treaty of Waitangi)

In the early 1840’s there was a treaty that was agreed and signed between the Maori and the Pakeha. Lieutenant William Hobson and former British resident James Busby, invited up the Maori chiefs starting with Hone Heke. Each signing was followed by a handshake and greeting from Hobson: He iwi tahi tatou (we are now one people).

For months in the 1840’s the treaty was circulated around the country for the Maori chiefs to sign. Involved in the treaty, was the 3p’s. They meant Protection for their land. Partnership to bring friendship between the Maori and the Pakeha and last but not least Participation to bring peace to the nation. It was Queen Victoria’s responsibility to bring peace to the people at Waitangi, the Bay of Islands and to bring the Maori’s and Pakeha’s together.

About 40 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi in the Bay of Island in the 1840’s. By the end of the year, nearly 500 other Maori, including 13 women, had put their names or a moko on the Treaty. Others disagreed to not at all to sign the Treaty.

No comments: